Linsie Esau – 2014 Hall of Fame Inductee

Bristol bits: Guest speaker discusses value of sports, leadership

by Bob Montgomery

linsieLinsie Esau, a 1988 Bristol Eastern graduate who played both football and basketball for the Lancers and went on to Hamilton College to do the same, was the guest speaker Tuesday morning at Nuchies when the Bristol Sports Hall of Fame presented its Leadership Council Breakfast — a gathering of high school athletes, teachers, school administrators and Hall of Fame directors. The students, all juniors, were there for the first of three such programs aimed at helping them become leaders in high school sports, the classroom and community.

Mark Ziogas, a Bristol attorney and a Hall of Fame director who chairs the breakfast, introduced Esau, a father of three working in investment accounting.

“Sports was the foundation of my life,” he told the audience. He continued by discussing his thoughts on what makes someone a success — volunteering, being a sports and classroom leader, and choosing to be one’s own person.

“You represent your family and Bristol in school, college and in life,” said Esau. “Treat people the very way you want to be treated. Respect your elders. The younger kids are watching you and they’ll do what you do.”

This leadership class and the next two sessions are from the three Bristol high schools chosen by school leaders as the future team captains and sports leaders when they are seniors next year. They are:

Bristol Central — Zack Aldieri, Jalen Benoit, Alexa Caron, Noah Cruz, Ellesse Dineno, Roberto Luis-Fuentes, Julian Galindez, Meghan Hamel, Hannah Jones, Andrew Marcantonio, Cydney Martin, Jess McCallister, Josh Moxam, George Pittman, Gabby Raymond, Trenessa Rioux, Tyshaun Rodriguez, Collin Savino, Elise Savino and Matt Varnum;

Bristol Eastern — David Anderie, Chadd Bernier, Shane Caggiano, Mike Centoni, Angela Daley, Gianna D’Amato, Morgan Dauphinee, Emily Denote, Hannah Grabowski, Nate Hickey, Joe Lombardi, Greg Lozier, Jack Murray, Josh O’Keefe, Nina Pasqua, Charline Plasczynski, Nathan Sherman, Emily Stadnicki, Ciera Thurston, Taylor Violette and Josh Wilson;

St. Paul — Rachel Aldieri, Brianna Cheng, Elisabeth Cretella, Mike Dombrowski, Zack Federowicz, Joe Garney, Abbey Grabherr, Jackson Hines, Kim Hylan, Jillian Kilmer, Amy Leard, Leo Lian, Kara Lipka, Lucas McPhee, Mitch Olivia, Amethyst Peterson, Michael Ranagan, Stephanie Speaker and Paul Wiecki.

Skip to content